Andreas Geiger, CVPR PAMI Young Researcher Winner, discussed the Computer Vision in Autonomous Driving

Surfing Tech

Professor Andreas Geiger, head of the automatic vision group at Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen and the Max Planck Institute (MPI) in Germany, won the PAMI Young Researcher Award at CVPR2018 in June, awarding the award to researchers with a doctorate degree in seven years and great potential for early research.

1.png

The research of Geiger is mainly focused on 3D vision understanding, segmentation, reconstruction, material and motion estimation for autonomous driving systems. He has led the construction of KITTI, a well-known data set in the field of autopilot, and a benchmark system for many autopilot computer vision tasks. KITTI is currently the largest open data set of computer vision for autopilot.

 

In early 2018, Geiger became the chief scientist of Surfing Tech, a company dedicated to providing multi-sensor data solutions for global autonomous driving companies. In July, the Syneced conducted an interview with Geiger on Surfing Tech, discussing the characteristics of computer vision tasks in the field of autopilot, the research frontiers and the latest progress of KITTI data sets.

 

Syneced: Which modules are the components of the automatic driving system? What are their dependencies?

 

The automatic driving system usually has a very classic and modular pipeline.

 

First, perception stack, which gives information from maps, three-dimensional sensors and two-dimensional sensors to the "world model". The world model aggregates the above information into a map, understands the position of different objects at each moment relative to road surface, road line and so on, and predicts the alternative paths at the next moment. Then there is a planning model to make decisions. Decision-making is also hierarchical. Coarse-grained decision-making needs to decide how to go from point A to point B, which is similar to GPS. In addition, there are many fine-grained decision-making tasks, such as deciding which lane to take, whether to temporarily occupy the opposite lane to complete overtaking, and how much speed should be set. Finally, the control module, which controls all the controllers, has high-level controllers, such as ESP, as well as the most basic controllers, such as controllers that control each wheel for acceleration and braking.

 

Syneced: What computer vision tasks do we need to accomplish first in order to make an automatic driving system to make the right decisions?

 

First, vehicle positioning: measuring the movement of the vehicle and positioning in the map. This part of work is accomplished by visual odometry system and localization system. The difference between them is that visual ranging estimates the relative motion of the vehicle relative to the previous time step, while positioning estimates the global motion of the vehicle in the map. Location can be accurate to centimeter level. Vehicle distances from fixed objects (e.g. poles) on some maps are already known. Based on this information, vehicles can already make fairly good path planning.

 

Then 3D vision reconstruction, usually in the range of 50-80 meters, the specific requirements depend on the speed of driving. Most STOA autopilot systems will use laser radar (LiDAR) for 3D reconstruction. However, a small number of teams try to recover three-dimensional information directly from the image. Because the data in the image is noisier, image-based reconstruction is a more challenging task.

2.jpg

 

In addition to rebuilding, you also need to have a good understanding of what is happening in front of the vehicle. Therefore, you need to detect objects, and further classify them on the basis of understanding what they are. Detection and classification will help predict their future trajectories. There are many ways to detect and classify objects. You can draw a bounding box for each object: This is the most common way, but automatic driving requires motion planning in a three-dimensional physical world, so you need at least a three-dimensional boundary box.

 

More precise are instance segmentation and semantic segmentation. When an object is shaped like a concave or a tunnel or something that needs to be traveled through, the boundary frame is obviously not enough. Instance segmentation classifies all the pixels of each instance in an image that belongs to some specific target category into one category. Case segmentation is usually performed on two-dimensional images, but there are also three-dimensional versions. Three-dimensional case segmentation is basically equivalent to object reconstruction. Semantic segmentation assigns a semantic label to each pixel in the image, and different instances of the same category do not distinguish. In addition, panoptic segmentation can be regarded as a combination of instance segmentation and semantic segmentation. Panoramic segmentation also distinguishes between categories that have no instances but are holistic, such as sky and vegetation. The sky can't be framed with a border pillar, and vegetation needs to be avoided at ordinary times, but the system also needs to know that it's not a big problem for cars to rush onto the lawn in an emergency (compared with hitting trees or pedestrians). Therefore, semantic information is necessary.

 

Next is motion estimation. According to the previous frame or several frames, the position of each point in the field of vision, or each object, in the next frame is estimated. For some objects, such as vehicles, their movement is relatively easy to predict, so the motion model can predict with higher accuracy. Other objects, such as pedestrians, can change their trajectories very suddenly, which makes it more difficult to build a motion model. Even so, short time interval (2-3 seconds) motion prediction still plays an important role in the decision-making process in crowded scenarios with more dynamic objects.

 

The above tasks are all independent, but in fact, the systems that collect the above information do not operate independently. Therefore, contextual reasoning can also help to give more accurate prediction. For example, a group of pedestrians usually wait for the red light and cross the road at the same time. When one car tries to parallel, the other car will brake and give way. It will be easier to understand complex scenes with these external information and prior knowledge as constraints.

 

Finally, one area that I think is very important but which has not attracted much attention is reasoning under uncertainty. Uncertainty is bound to be included in the data obtained by human senses or vehicle sensors. Therefore, how to accurately assess the uncertainty, taking into account both "minimizing risk" and "completing tasks", is an important topic. Ideally, all the above tasks of detection, segmentation, reconstruction and location should be carried out under uncertain constraints, and the system should know what mistakes it may make before proceeding.

 

Syneced: How to classify computer vision tasks related to automatic driving? What are the criteria for classification?

 

Classifying by input is a common practice. According to the source of input, it can be divided into data from lidar, camera, radar and other instruments in the car. According to the input representation, it can also be classified. The sparse point cloud given by lidar and the dense two-dimensional image given by camera are two different representations, and the algorithms adopted are also different. Dimensions can also be categorized. Algorithms for three-dimensional input are usually more complex, because without special approaches, three-dimensional input can quickly deplete memory resources.

 

Another classification is based on clues. Clues can be divided into semantic cues and geometric cues. Geometric cues use multiple images to get depth information through feature matching and triangular alignment. But because the error of this estimation is square with distance, it has great limitations. In other words, human visual system is not suitable for driving, because our visual system is designed to operate within the distance of open hands. When driving, humans use semantic clues to compensate for this defect: even if there is only one picture, which theoretically does not contain distance information, humans can still estimate the relative distance of objects according to a large amount of prior knowledge. All in all, the autopilot system can get three-dimensional information by installing multiple cameras, or by installing a camera, but anticipate what will be seen by strong prior. Ideally, we want to combine the two.

 

Another method is to classify objects according to whether or not they move and how they move. Firstly, it is divided into static part recognition and moving object recognition. For static scenes, there are special standard reconstruction algorithms based on the assumption that everything is static. But in fact, we need to reconstruct the scene from multiple images taken at different times, which requires us to design special algorithms to deal with the moving objects in the scene. Moving objects can be divided into rigid objects and non-rigid objects.

3.jpg


Contact us if you need us.

Request a Demo

CVPR PAMI青年研究员奖得主Andreas Geiger:自动驾驶中的计算机视觉

Surfing Tech

在今年 6 月召开的 CVPR2018 上,德国图宾根大学及马克斯·普朗克研究所(MPI)自动视觉组负责人 Andreas Geiger 教授摘得了 PAMI Young Researcher Award,该奖项颁发给 7 年内获得博士学位且早期研究极为有潜力的研究人员。


1.png

Geiger 的研究主要集中在用于自动驾驶系统的三维视觉理解、分割、重建、材质与动作估计等方面。他主导了自动驾驶领域著名数据集 KITTI 及多项自动驾驶计算机视觉任务的基准体系建设,KITTI 是目前最大的用于自动驾驶的计算机视觉公开数据集。


2018 年年初,Geiger 出任了北京冲浪科技有限公司 (Surfingtech) 的首席科学家,冲浪科技是一家致力于为全球自动驾驶公司提供多传感器数据解决方案的公司。7 月,机器之心在冲浪科技对 Geiger 进行了专访,谈了谈自动驾驶领域的计算机视觉任务的特点、研究前沿及 KITTI 数据集的最新进展。

 

机器之心:自动驾驶系统都由哪些模块组成?它们之间的依赖关系是什么?

 

自动驾驶系统通常有一个非常经典的、模块化的流水线。

 

首先是感知模块(perception stack),感知模块将地图、三维传感器、二维传感器中的信息给到「世界模型」(world model),世界模型将上述信息,汇总在一张地图中,理解每一个时刻不同的物体相对于路面、道线等的位置,预测下一刻的可选路径都有哪些。随后是一个规划模块(planning model),进行决策。决策的内容也是分层级的。粗粒度的决策需要决定如何从 A 点到 B 点,完成的是类似 GPS 的工作。除此之外还有诸多细粒度的决策工作,例如决定走哪一条车道,是否要暂时占用对向车道完成超车,车速应该设定为多少等。最后是控制模块(control module),控制模块操纵所有的控制器,有高层的控制器,比如电子稳定系统 ESP,也有最基层的控制器,比如控制每一个轮子进行加速和刹车的控制器。

 

机器之心:想要让一个自动驾驶系统作出正确的决策,首先要完成哪些计算机视觉任务?

 

首先是车辆定位:衡量车辆的运动并在地图中进行定位。完成这部分工作的是视觉测距(visual odometry)系统和定位(localization)系统。二者的区别是,视觉测距估计的是车辆相对于前一时间步进行的相对运动,而定位是对车辆在地图中的运动进行全局的估计。定位是可以精确到厘米级的,车辆相对于一些地图中固定的物体(例如电线杆)的距离已经是已知的,基于这些信息,车辆已经可以进行相当不错的路径规划了。

 

然后是三维视觉重建,重建范围通常在 50-80 米,具体需求视行驶速度而定。大部分 STOA 自动驾驶系统会使用激光雷达(LiDAR)进行三维重建。不过也有少部分团队试图直接从图像中恢复三维信息。由于图像中的数据相比之下更为嘈杂,因此完全基于图像的重建是一项更具有挑战性的工作。

2.jpg

 

除了重建之外,你也需要对车辆正前方正在发生的事有充分的理解。因此,你需要进行物体检测,也需要在理解物体是什么的基础上对其进行进一步的分类,而检测和分类会帮助预测其未来轨迹。进行检测和分类的方式是多样的,你可以给每一个物体画一个边界框(bounding box):这是最常见的方式,但是自动驾驶需要在三维的物理世界中进行运动规划,所以你至少要需要一个三维的边界框。

 

更精确的是实例分割(instance segmentation)和语义分割(semantic segmentation)。当物体是形状为凹或者是隧道之类需要穿行的物体时,边界框显然是不够的。实例分割将图像里属于一些特定目标类别的每个实例的所有像素分为一类。实例分割通常在二维图像上进行,但也有三维版本,三维实例分割基本等同于物体重建。而语义分割为图像里每一个像素分配一个语义标签,同一类别的不同实例不做区分。除此之外,全景分割(panoptic segmentation)基本上可以视作实例分割和语义分割的结合。全景分割对那些没有实例只有整体的类别也进行区分,例如天空和植被。天空无法用一个边界框框柱,而植被需要在平时避开,但系统也需要知道在紧急情况下汽车冲上草坪并无大碍(相比之下撞上树或者行人就有很大问题了)。因此语义信息是必要的。

 

接下来是运动估计。根据之前的一帧或数帧,预估视野里的每一个点,或者说每一个物体,在下一帧的位置。一些物体,例如车辆,它们的移动是比较容易预判的,因此运动模型可以进行准确率较高的预测。而另外一些物体,例如行人,会非常突然地变更其运动轨迹,导致运动模型的建立更为艰难。即便如此,较短时间区间(2-3 秒)的动作预测,在动态物体较多的拥挤场景下的决策过程中也仍然扮演着至关重要的角色。

 

上述任务都是各自独立的,但是实际上,收集上述信息的系统并不是各自独立运转的。因此情境推理(contextual reasoning)也有助于给出更准确的预测。例如一群行人通常会同时等红灯、同时过马路,一辆车试图并线时另一辆车会刹车让路,以这些外部信息、先验知识做约束,理解复杂场景会变得更为容易。

 

最后,一个我认为十分重要但是并没有引起较多重视的领域是不确定性推理(reasoning under uncertainty)。人类感官或者车辆传感器拿到的数据中必然包含着不确定性,因此,如何准确地评估不确定性,并兼顾「最小化风险」和「完成任务」,是一个重要的话题。理想情况下,所有上述检测、分割、重建、定位任务都应该在不确定性约束下进行,系统在行进之前应该知道它可能犯哪些错误。

 

机器之心:如何对与自动驾驶相关的计算机视觉任务进行分类?分类的标准是什么?

 

以输入进行分类是一种常见做法。按照输入的来源,可以分为来自激光雷达、摄像头、雷达、乃至车内的其他仪表的数据。按照输入表征也可以进行分类,激光雷达给出的稀疏的点云和摄像头给出的密集的二维图像就是两种不同的表征,采取的算法也有所不同。按照维度也可以进行分类,用于三维输入的算法通常更为复杂,因为如果不采取特殊做法,三维输入会快速耗尽内存资源。

 

另一种分法是按照线索分类。线索可以分为语义线索(semantic cues)和几何线索(geometric cues),几何线索是利用多张图片通过特征匹配和三角对齐得到深度信息。但是因为这种估算的误差与距离呈平方关系,因此有很大的局限性。换言之,人类的视觉系统其实也是不适合开车的,因为我们的视觉系统只是为了在两手张开的距离内进行操作而设计的。人类在开车的时候利用语义线索弥补了这一缺陷:即使只有一张图片,理论上其中并不包含距离信息,人类仍然可以根据大量的先验知识估计其中物体的相对距离。总而言之,自动驾驶系统可以通过安装多个摄像头获得三维信息,也可以通过安装一个摄像头,但是通过强先验来预判会看到什么。理想情况下,我们希望将二者结合。

 

还有一种方法是根据物体是否运动以及如何运动进行分类。首先分为静态部分识别和运动物体识别。对于静态场景来说,有专门的标准重建算法,基于「所有的东西都是静态的」这一假设进行重构。但是事实上,我们需要从多幅拍摄于不同时间的图像中重建场景,这就需要我们设计专门的算法来处理场景中的运动物体。运动物体又可以分为刚性物体和非刚性物体。刚性物体的所有部分一起运动,可以用六自由度变化来描述它在三维空间中的运动轨迹。汽车就是一个刚性物体,而行人就属于非刚性物体,行人有胳膊、腿,彼此之间以关节相连,在运动中,每一个部分的运动轨迹大相径庭,因此刻画行人的运动需要额外的自由度。

3.jpg


Contact us if you need us.

Request a Demo